Students win big at annual Awards Banquet

By Seán McGlone – News Editor

Student Government Association poses at the annual Awards Banquet. Photo by Seán McGlone

The 2016 Awards Banquet was held in de Witt Hall on April 14. More than 100 students, faculty, and staff were in attendance for the annual ceremony that celebrates the accomplishments of Lasell’s many clubs and organizations during the past academic year.

The ceremony opened with remarks from Director of Student Activities and Orientation, Jennifer Granger. A presentation followed by the Yearbook Dedication Award presented to President Michael Alexander, the Alumni Scholarships given to juniors Courtney Braman, Grace Hogan, and sophomores Megan Croce, and Tess Dooley. The SGA de Witt Spirit Award was awarded to Assistant Director of Student Activities, Sarah Richardson.

Relay for Life won the coveted Organization of the Year award after 301 students from 26 teams attended the event on April 9 and 10. This was the sixth time Lasell hosted the event, and the club raised approximately $17,000 for cancer research, the most raised at a Relay for Life event in its time at Lasell.

“[Relay for Life] wasn’t just a club that was good for us and looks good for us, we did something that impacts everybody, and we brought everybody together,” said sophomore Megan Croce, co-president of the committee. “We were able to raise money that’s going to better the world, not even just Lasell, it’s bigger than Lasell.” Croce also said in an email that Lasell’s Relay for Life website will be open until August for anyone still interested in donating.

Relay for Life won Organization of the Year. Photo by Sean McGlone.

Senior cheerleading captain Jordan Dalpe took home this year’s Student Leader of the Year award.

“The cheerleading team means everything to me,” said Dalpe. “Winning this award really means that my heart and my soul were kind of showed and exemplified to my team. Knowing the way they feel about me makes me so grateful and so happy.”

The Lasell Bowls were then presented to seniors Colbylyn Gilman, Deirdre Duddy-Kennedy, Samantha Buote, Anthony Szol, Morgan Nash, Kristin Arnold and Braman.

Myranda Smith won the Lasell Chair award, which is presented to a graduating senior. Smith was given the award for her contributions to the Tennis Club, Random Acts of Kindness Club, the Center for Community-Based Learning and her work organizing the yearly Red Cross Blood Drives, among several other groups and positions she has held. Smith also won the Student Leader of the Year award in 2014, her sophomore year.

“Every year, the person winning the chair was always someone I looked up to,” Smith said.

The award had special meaning to Smith, having personally known the winners of all three previous Awards Banquets she attended.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: